Board Minutes - 2023.10.16


October 16, 2023


The Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Community School District Board of Directors met at the District Office on Monday, October 16, 2023 at 6:00 pm for a regular board meeting. Visitors in attendance: Janet Brinegar, CD Brinegar, Ann Ohms, Ed Glenn, Dimitri Boyer, Travis Johnson, Melissa Appel, Tyrone Lobberecht, Regina Hoy and others not signed in. 


Call to Order: President Houk called to order the meeting of the EBF Board of Directors at 6:00 pm. Roll call: Nathan Hinton, present; Eric Klyn, present; Lara Vandello, present; Micah Van Mersbergen, present; Doug Brinegar, present; and Curt Houk, present.  Quorum established.


Board held a moment of silence for Board Member, Mark Haselhuhn, who passed away September 21st.


Public Forum: CD Brinegar, Janet Brinegar, Melissa Appel and Regina Hoy spoke in public forum.


Correspondence:  Thank you cards were received from the families of Kim Paulos and Mark Haselhuhn 


Approve Agenda:  Vandello moved and Hinton seconded to amend the agenda to add item 9f- Archery Coach a position vetted by administration, non-paid positon.   Motion carried unanimously to amend agenda.


Reports: Scott Williamson, Superintendent, gave his board report on enrollment and VPPEL finances. April Glosser, Curriculum Director, presented her board update on professional development and Fall Fast Testing. Steve Noble, Jr/Sr High School Principal, informed the board of PSAT testing, staff recognition awards and the upcoming Veteran’s Day program. Jil Nelson, Eddyville Elementary Principal, updated the board on DHS licensing for the preschool staff, safety drills and Fremont’s “Give Mr. Fineran some hair” reading challenge. Cathy Williamson, Director of Special Services, gave updates on special education and mental health grants and Lori Hugen spoke on the Explore Academy’s staff presenting at the Iowa BEST Summit in Des Moines.  Other reports submitted but not read, were from the Daycare Director, Maintenance Director and Nutrition Director.


Consent Items:  Van Mersbergen moved and Brinegar seconded to approve Consent Items 7a to 7d: September 18, 2023 Minutes; Account Balances as of September 30, 2023; Bills list for October 2023; School Board Policies: 559-Emergency Plans & Drills, 560-Student Insurance, 561-Custody & Parental Rights, 562-Special Health Services.  There were no Contract & Agreements. Motion carried unanimously.  Brinegar moved and Vandello seconded to approve the following open enrollments in from Landon Clary, Bowen Taylor, Raidyn Vandello, Jada Watson-James, Darren Watson-James, and Sasha Shultz, and open enrollments out from Karson Kirkpatrick, Kenna Kirkpatrick and Michael Kirkpatrick.  Motion carried unanimously.


Personnel:  Hinton moved and Brinegar seconded to approve the hires of Nina Roach, bus driver; Ryan Jackson, 9th Grade Girls Basketball Coach; Jake Cook, Junior High Boys Basketball Coach; Jake Cook, Junior High Girls Basketball Coach; Mackenzie Vanskike, Behavior Interventionist; and Jennifer Mort, Para Educator. Motion carried unanimously.  Brinegar moved and Van Mersbergen seconded to accept the resignations of Alex Ashman, Assistant Baseball Coach and Madysen Wade, 9th Grade Girls Basketball Coach. Motion carried unanimously. Vandello moved and Van Mersbergen seconded to approve the following volunteers: Madysen Wade, Girls Basketball; Adam Proctor, Wrestling; Kevin Huck, Wrestling; Brad Steele, Wrestling; Davey Dyke, Wrestling; Nick Schmitz, Archery; Jessica Nollen, Archery; Travis Johnson, Archery; Adam Bahr, Archery; Rob Pilcher, Archery; Ashley Glosser, Archery; Jenny Van Zante, Archery; Coby Schmitz, Archery and Katie Smith, Archery.  Motion carried unanimously


Action Items: Van Mersbergen moved and Vandello seconded to draw the replacement of director for district 4 from a hat.  Tyrone Lobberecht was drawn and Lobberecht was sworn in as director for district 4.  Brinegar moved and Vandello second for the district to pay 100% of the single coverage for classified staff, up from 80%. Motion carried unanimously.  Hinton moved and Klyn seconded to accept quote #3 from Hopkins Roofing for the Eddyville Elementary Roof Repair.  90-mil EPDM for an expected cost of $73,636.06. Motion carried unanimously.  Vandello moved and Hinton seconded to waive the open enrollment eligibility requirements for a student that open enrolled in September.  The student’s resident district’s board approved the waiver at their October 9th board meeting.  Motion carried with a 5 (yes) to 2 (no) vote.  Hinton moved and Vandello seconded to approve the active space renovation in the amount of $30,000.  Motion carried unanimously.  Vandello moved and Hinton seconded to approve the administration vetting and recommending to the board a head coach for the archery program.  This is a non-paid position.  Motion carried unanimously. 


Discussion Items:   Capital projects – sharing agreement with Ottumwa CSD for swimming & Twin Cedars CSD for wrestling – 78th IASB Annual Convention is Nov 15th to the 17th.  Open positons: Regular Route Driver, Child Care Associates, 2nd Shift Custodian - Jr/Sr High, Vocal Music Teacher - Jr/Sr High, Substitutes for all positions, Assistant Baseball Coach, Spring Play Director, Assistant FFA Advisor, Basketball Cheer Coach, Head Boys Golf Coach, Head Girls Golf Coach


Adjourn:  Brinegar moved and Vandello seconded to adjourn meeting.  Motion carried unanimously.  Meeting adjourned at 7:55 pm.






Curt Houk                                                         Mary McCrea

Board President                                              Board Secretary